subterranean tracings

Our season 3 finale presents premieres of three pieces written for the same ensemble. Last season, we experienced the “Octandre” ensemble filtered through the lens of Ferneyhough with an added soloist. For this concert, a new concerto has been composed, replacing the violin soloist with the incredible cellist Ashley Walters, and adding a tuba to further warp the personality of this instrumentation. Context for the premieres is offered by two older works by Jason Eckardt and Georges Aperghis, both of whom can create all of the tension and surprise of an ensemble with only one or two performers.

For a glimpse into the three new works on this concert, read the notes on subterranean tracings.

May 27, 2016
Concert 3
ArtShareLA, 8pm, $10

801 E. 4th Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
Parking is free during events directly across the street from ArtShare, up the ramp.

Brian Griffeath-Loeb: for Chris Marker
Georges Aperghis: À bout de bras
Nicholas Deyoe: Lullaby 6 “for Duane” for amplified cello and 9 players
Jason Eckardt: A way [tracing]
Michelle Lou: new work

featuring Ashley Walters, cello soloist

Élise Roy, flute
Brian Walsh, clarinet & bass clarinet
James Sullivan, bass clarinet
Claire Chenette, oboe & english horn
Archie Carey, bassoon & contrabassoon
Allen Fogle, horn
Aaron Smith, trumpet
Matt Barbier, trombone & euphonium
Luke Storm, tuba
Scott Worthington, double bass